Who Is The Current Governor Of State Bank Of Pakistan

Question: Who Is Current Governor Of State Bank Of Pakistan 2018?

  • Mr Ashraf Mahmood Wathra
  • Mr Tariq Bajwa

Answer: Mr Tariq Bajwa

Mr Tariq Bajwa Is Current Governor Of State Bank Of Pakistan 2018

Mr Tariq Bajwa appointed as the SBP governor by the president of Pakistan. The 7th July 2017 was the date of appointment for a period of 3 years. Mr Tariq Bajwa takes all responsibilities from 7th July 2017. Since 1981, MR. Bajwa has been providing his services to with the public. The government authorized positions obtained by the personality. He was an assistant commissioner, deputy commissioner secretariat both at federal and provincial level. He also served as General Manager PIA from 1992 to 1996. He was head of Pakistan’s trade mission Los Angeles from 1999 to 2004. The direct experience of person was Secretary finance Punjab which started in 2010 and ended till 2013. He was known for his services, like stabilization of the provincial finances. The economic affairs of Pakistan linked this person to the finance at various angles.

We are Giving the Answer to Your Search About Who Is The Current Governor Of State Bank Of Pakistan? State bank of Pakistan is the main bank of Pakistan to make and run monetary policies. It came into being in may, 1948 and became fully operational on 1 July 1948. To meet the economic needs of the country Quaid E Azam immediately after the partition established state bank of Pakistan. Zahid Hussain was the first governor of state bank of Pakistan. He lingered on this post from 1948 to 1953. The incumbent governor general of State Bank is Tariq Bajwa appointed on 7 July 2017. He is the 19th governor of State Bank. Governor of State Bank is appointed by the president of Pakistan for a term of 3 years. He was the only student who received a prestigious Littauer fellowship at Harvard University, and now he is Current Governor Of State Bank Of Pakistan 2018

Before appointing as governor of State bank, he has been served in Pakistan administrative service group. He is the third bureaucrat whoever has been appointed as the governor of state bank of Pakistan. State bank is Banker’s bank. It controls the flow of money. It defines and implements rules and principles of execution of monetary deeds. On a broader spectrum, it provides loans and investment projects for different investors. It also provides a road line for other banks to do and execute the banking tasks. Considering the central role of State Bank, it is the right time to reform the policies of State Bank. There is a dire need to make state bank more effective and viable.

Who Is The Current Governor Of State Bank Of Pakistan 2018

Who Is The Current Governor Of State Bank Of Pakistan

Pakistan presently running under the heavy debt of IMF, IBRD and other world financing institutions. It will have to direct its activities to gain microeconomics goals. It can support and direct other banks to achieve target goals.  State Bank should Rethink economic policies of the country to bring prosperity. It should give loans to other banks on easy payable terms, so in the result, they may support the common mass.

Through its shrewd guidance, it may direct government sincerely in the matter of economic policies. It should direct government investment in long-term development plans. A governor should introduce poverty alleviation and reduction schemes. It is mainly responsible for maintaining the money value. Poverty is the major social evil that presently hitting the country on hard lines. It is needing to eliminate badly.

List of State Bank Governers:

Governor Took office
Zahid Hussain 1948 – 1953
Abdul Qadir 1953 – 1960
Shujaat Ali Hasnie 1960 – 1967
Mahbubur Raschid 1967 – 1971
Shahkurullah Durrani 1971 – December 1971
Ghulam Ishaq Khan 1971 – 1975
S. Osman Ali 1975 – 1978
Aftab Ghulam Nabi Kazi 1978 – 1986
Vasim Aon Jafarey 1986 – 1988
Imtiaz Alam Hanfi 1988 – 1989
Kassim Parekh 1989 – 1990
Imtiaz Alam Hanfi 1990 – 1993
Muhammad Yaqub 1993 – 1999
Ishrat Husain 1999 – 2005
Shamshad Akhtar 2006 – 2009
Salim Raza 2009 – 2010
Shahid Hafeez Kardar 2010 – 2011
Yaseen Anwar 2011 – 2014
Ashraf Mahmood Wathra 2014 – 2017
Tariq Bajwa 2017 – Current


Current Governor Of State Bank Of Pakistan 2018According to the current survey, about 70 percent of Pakistan people are living below the poverty lines. Out of seventy percent, about 30 percent are living in abject poverty remaining 40 percent too do not have competent resources to make their both ends meet. In the supposed role of the state bank, poverty alleviation is on the top of the list. State bank should introduce microeconomic plans in the poverty-ridden areas. Because if poverty is allow to exists in the country, there will be very least chances for the country to grow economically, socially and politically. Hope you have got the details about your question Who Is The Current Governor Of State Bank Of Pakistan 2018? If not, you can leave FAQs below comments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *